Sunday, March 20, 2011

Irish Blog Awards came to Belfast ... and shut up shop

Rick O'Shea kicking off the 2011 Irish Blog Awards ceremony

On Saturday night the Irish Blog Awards travelled north to Belfast and the Europa Hotel. Rick O’Shea steered the crowd gathered in the ground floor conference hall through the umpteen categories while Rev Jesse Jackson addressed victims and survivors of the troubles up in the twelfth floor suite.

Glass trophies were handed out; but unfortunately, many of the category winners weren’t in the room to receive their awards. And everyone got to take home polystyrene mementos of the evening, as well as the spare sugary treats from Curious Cupcakes. Arsenal-focussed sporting blog won the overall 2011 Best Blog prize.

Winners at 2011 Irish Blog Awards

Of local interest, Manuel the Waiter got huge cheers as he picked up the Best Humour Blog award for Well Done Fillet.

June Caldwell picked up a very well deserved Best Blog Post award for her piece on depression – Being depressed just means you’re not a moron – dedicating the win to the other writers at the excellent group blog The Anti-Room.

Cedar Lounge Revolution beat Slugger O'Toole to the Best Political Blog award.

Dylan Haskins triumphed over shortlisted local Minister of Culture, Arts & Leisure Nelson McCausland to win Best Blog of a Politician.

Damien Mulley, the driving force behind the six years of awards, explained at the close of the ceremony that this would be the last IBAs he’d be organising.

1 comment:

belfast cabby said...

Really glad Manuel won at last well over due.